• Monument (map)
  • 140 9th Street
  • San Francisco, CA, 94103
  • United States

Did you know one of the most influential pieces of 20th century music was written and premiered by inmates at a Nazi POW camp? Outdoors? In the rain?? Ever since that dramatic event in 1941, performances of the Quartet for the End of Time by French composer Olivier Messiaen have become singular experiences. Jump to right now in San Francisco, and we’re playing it WITH videos and photographs showing Messiaen’s direct use of birdsong, color effects, and Catholic imagery and references in his music.


Ian Scarfe, piano
Rachel Patrick, violin
Matthew Boyles, clarinet

Click here for tickets!